The Writing Mind

Where the Journey Begins!

Crossroading

on 2013/09/08

20130908-225317.jpg

On a cold and dreary night in hot August, I sit and ponder where my life has come to in my room. Years of difficulty, and strength coupled the strong determination that I had always shown in those trying times. “Don’t You Worry Child” by the Swedish House Mafia had just come on, and I stood still as I listened.

A couple of days later, I got out of the house and went to the local mall. Ever since college, I’ve had a real passion for shopping, furthermore getting things cheaper attracted me to this addictive vice even more. It was none other than “Don’t You Worry Child” that played in the background as I was in a store browsing, and I again paused and listened to this upbeat tune. Then “Let’s Go” by Calvin Harris and Ne-Yo followed, and though I also like this other clubby tune, I figured it was time “to go”!

I spent the rest of the time walking on the “Ashuwillticook Rail Trail” and ended up at the causeway with the beautiful Cheshire Lake on both sides! This trail stretches all the way to the town of North Adams, and from its starting point in Lanesborough goes for about twelve miles! The name Ashuwillticook is very local to this area by it describing the southern branch of the Hoosic River that is in this area, it is a Native American term that in conversation describes a pleasant river that is in between the hills.

So true is this name, for like the flowing river that is shaping my life, there are those surrounding hills that obstructs the river’s view from the ground. As I walked back, I saw that like a river wanting to make itself known by emptying into a lake, I would need to be above those obstructing hills–which I think I can do!

Leave a Reply

