The Writing Mind

Where the Journey Begins!

An Impactful Impact

on 2016/10/24

As I am finding my voice, and reflecting this “superpower”, I decided to have the powers that are within Google to give me a topic to reflect on.  It so happened that today’s “Google Doodle” was honoring Mr. Antoni van Leeuwenhoek, the Father of Microbiology.  Picking out a site of his then, I read through it, and EUREKA a connection emerged!

Having an interest in the sciences, I studied Microbiology and Biology–and just remember how much brainpower one would need in memorizing the many many facets of the natural world!  “Doctor” Leeuwenhoek discovered tiny organisms that encompassed the discipline of Microbiology, and had a genuine interest and curiosity doing so, though his education wasn’t formalized in the sciences.  He made over 500 microscopes by grinding lenses, with his interest peaking from curiosity, and then proceeded to use these instruments in observing what he saw.  Within his lifetime he discovered bacteria, sperm cells, blood cells, nematodes, rotifers–and so many more tiny organisms!  He was the one that observed tiny organisms in the mouth, that also reminded me of my biology class with one of our labs focusing on the bacteria that was found in the mouth!

“. . . my work, which I’ve done for a long time, was not pursued in order to gain the praise I now enjoy, but chiefly from a craving after knowledge, which I notice resides in me more than in most other men. And therewithal, whenever I found out anything remarkable, I have thought it my duty to put down my discovery on paper, so that all ingenious people might be informed thereof.”

This quote from Antony van Leeuwenhoek from a letter dated June 12, 1716 also highlights my own sense of curiosity and amazement of the natural world, and I would hope that being curious would be a good thing!

Many Thanks to the University of California at Berkeley: http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/history/leeuwenhoek.html !

Leave a Reply

